By: Representatives Rotenberry, Weathersby To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 114 (As Adopted by House and Senate)

1	A	CONCURRENT	RESOLUTION	COMMENDING	THE	SIMPSON	ACAI	EMY
2	COUGARS	FOOTBALL T	EAM FOR AN (OUTSTANDING	1998	SEASON	AND	FOR
3	WINNING	THE CLASS	AAA DISTRICT	r champions	HIP.			

- 4 WHEREAS, the Simpson Academy Cougars Football Team finished
- 5 the 1998 season with a remarkable record of 9 wins and three
- 6 losses and won the Class AAA District Championship; and
- WHEREAS, many members of the team have received recognition
- 8 for their hard work, dedication and superior play this season,
- 9 including the naming of Nathan Maddox and Bradley Weathersby to
- 10 the All-District team, the All-Stars team, and the All-State team,
- 11 and the selection of Drew Boteler, Travis Dear, Brad Jones,
- 12 Drummonds McAlpin, Rob Miller, Shey Patterson, Marney Walker,
- 13 Brandon Wester to the All-District team; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the Cougars have been superbly coached and inspired
- 15 this season by Head Coach Skip Moore and Assistant Coaches Dale
- 16 Berry, Billy Wayne Hankins, David Holbrook, Winston Mullins and
- 17 Brandt Walker, who have broadened the players' knowledge of the
- 18 game and refined their skills in execution; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the Cougars have developed a winning and cooperative
- 20 spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities
- 21 and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and
- 22 their coaches and bring honor to Simpson Academy; and
- 23 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 24 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of
- 25 our state, who are its future:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF

- 27 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 28 THEREIN, That we commend and congratulate the Simpson Academy
- 29 Cougars Football Team and their coaches, Head Coach Skip Moore and
- 30 Assistant Coaches Dale Berry, Billy Wayne Hankins, David Holbrook,
- 31 Winston Mullins and Brandt Walker, for their outstanding 1998
- 32 season, for winning the Class AAA District Championship and for
- 33 displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.
- 34 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 35 furnished to Simpson Academy, Head Coach Skip Moore and Assistant
- 36 Coaches Dale Berry, Billy Wayne Hankins, David Holbrook, Winston
- 37 Mullins and Brandt Walker.